Are You Ready? (K.Blais)

‘Tis the season… Christmas day is actually only seven short days away. I was thinking about that today and I wondered how ready I was for Christmas.

The house has been decorated since just before Advent began, which was a first for me, and actually ended up being an excellent thing. I love having the house decorated early and being able to enjoy it throughout the season instead of feeling stressed to get the decorations up in amidst the hustle and bustle of doing everything else. Besides, we go through so much work to pull the decorations out and to put them up, it’s nice to be able to enjoy them a little longer.

I began gift buying early; however, this may not have been an entirely good thing as I think I may have purchased more because I had more time to do so… It just may take a little longer to wrap everything that’s all. It certainly won’t take any longer to unwrap that’s for sure – that usually passes by in a whirlwind! With just a few gift cards to purchase and a couple of odd little things to get, I just might be done, but I don’t dare say that too loudly.

Teacher’s gifts have been put together, after channeling my inner Martha Stewart and with a little help from Pinterest of course. We even made it through a week of special events – pajama days, ugly Christmas sweater days, class pot lucks, and school Christmas concerts. And, I’m proud to say, we even managed to do a fairly good job with all of those things too!

Christmas cards will be done (hopefully) after tomorrow, and delivered/mailed shortly thereafter. (This may be one area I am a little behind on for one reason or another.) Pictures have been ordered, picked up, and will be added to family gifts with only a few slight glitches as well I might add.

But amidst all the hustle and hall decking of the season, I know that these are all only material things. Christmas would still go on if my house wasn’t decorated. Christmas would still happen with or without presents (there just may be a few sad faces Christmas morning). Christmas would continue to occur even without school events and teacher gifts. Christmas would even still be Christmas without my tradition of sending Christmas cards, pictures, and letters to family and friends.

Those things are all wonderful parts of Christmas, but the most wonderful part of Christmas is the birth of our Saviour. Without the birth of a small babe in a lowly manger so many years ago, the world would be an entirely different place. That’s why my faith is so important to me – not everyone believes the same things I do and that’s ok, but my faith is what makes my world different.

My faith is what helps get me through the dark times when it seems like everything and everyone is pitted against me. My faith brings me strength when I am weak. My faith helps me to stand back up when I stumble and fall. My faith helps me to be kind to others, even when they are less than kind to me. My faith allows me to rejoice and to be thankful for everything which I have been given as well. My faith is rooted in the belief that one eve, a long time ago, a baby was born in a manger. This baby would be the Saviour of us all.

So yes, I am ready. I am ready for Christmas and all of the wonderful, worldly things that it brings because I have been greatly blessed. I am also ready for Christmas and to celebrate and share my faith and my beliefs in my spiritual blessings.

Not everyone is as blessed as we are. Please remember to reach out to others this Christmas and to let them know that you care. Share your Christmas joy with others, in whatever form it may take.

I wish you all a blessed and very Merry Christmas and a wonderful and peaceful New Year.

Are you ready?

(Dear Readers, I will be taking a much needed break and, hopefully, relaxing holiday. Writing For The Love Of It will be back in 2015. Thank you so much for your support and love over the last year. Love, ~ K ~)

2 thoughts on “Are You Ready? (K.Blais)

  1. What a beautiful and heartwarming post 💗 May God bless you and your whole family this beautiful Christmas season 🎄 and may 2015 🎊 bring you much deserved love and happiness! Love you all 💞

Leave a Reply

