The One That Got Away (K.Blais)

I’m not a materialistic person. Not really, anyway. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I like nice things; OK, I really like nice things, but I know they are not tremendously important to my happiness. But I will have to say that I lusted over something material this week.

For the first time, I entered the new Winners store in my town. I was on the search for a hair straightener, or a flat iron as some of you may know it. I was looking to do something different to change my look, a different style to go along with my new hair colour. My dear friend and hair stylist had recommended a brand which she said I could get a good cost at Winners, so I saw it as a perfect excuse to check out the store which I hadn’t dared to enter yet.

I will be honest: I have been known to spend a fair amount of money when in a Winners (or Marshall’s, a similar chain store). Some of my most favourite shopping experiences have found me there with my beloved sister-in-law T and my sweet friend H. I went into this Winners store to simply buy a straightener, but of course I had to browse as well.

In the midst of my browsing I just had to check out the bags department. I have a bit of a compulsion when buying bags and purses. I see something I like, I want it, and I usually end up buying it. This day was no different. During my browsing I came across a beautiful Coach bag, one that would be both fashionable and useful as it would serve as a work bag to tote my laptop, iPad, books, and various other work necessities.

I picked up the bag. I examined it, stroked it (yes — I just wrote ‘stroked’; anyone who is serious about bags and purses knows exactly what I mean by this), I tried it on, and I admired the practicality of it. The only thing that was throwing me off was the colour — tan. You see, I’m usually a black or brown bag kinda gal. Purses can be any colour, but I like my work bags to be certain colours because then they will match my coats. *My apologies to my male readers for all the fashion talk here.

The other thing that was turning me off of the bag was the price. Now I know how expensive Coach bags can be and I knew that the retail cost of this bag anywhere else was probably at least double its amount, but I couldn’t justify spending the money the price tag was asking. As much as I wanted to, I just couldn’t do it. So I put the bag back and proceeded to look through the others hanging there. I found some nice ones and did end up picking out another one, not Coach, but a classy one all the same.

Deep down, I wanted the Coach bag and I even went back to check it out one more time only to find it gone. I was instantly filled with regret. I could’ve put it in my cart and saved the decision-making until later. I should’ve held on to it until I had completely decided whether the bag was for me or not. Someone else had obviously loved it just as much, if not more, and had had the good sense to snag it up right away, which made me want that bag even more. It could’ve been mine.

Truth be told, I did another quick trip around the store, eyeing up women’s carts to see if I could catch a glimpse of the person who had caught the bag that hadn’t gotten away.

Yes, it was only a bag. Perhaps if I take another trip into Winners in the near future, I will find another bag just as desirable as the Coach bag was, but ultimately the bag incident has led me to thinking a lot about those missed opportunities in life. Do we question ourselves too much and miss out on our chances to have something great? Do we second guess ourselves and put off things until tomorrow when really we should be doing them today? Do we talk ourselves out of situations, possibilities, relationships (even bags) because it doesn’t seem to fit our ‘normal’ or ‘usual’ way? Are we scared to take chances or risks because we are afraid of what the outcome might be? Or are we afraid that something new just might make all the difference in our lives?

It was only a bag I lost the chance to buy, but I think I learned a lot more from it being the one that got away than from actually being the one who took it home. While most decisions are necessary to think through, sometimes you have to just go with your gut instinct and take a chance. Life is about living, taking risks, and doing things that are different just because they are exactly that. I’m going to remember that in the future, especially as I head back to work and life becomes scheduled, routined, and hectic.

In the meantime, perhaps I’ll be lucky enough to find another Coach bag appear in my life at some point. My mother-in-law is going to the States in the near future and she does love to shop…

4 thoughts on “The One That Got Away (K.Blais)

  1. What a great way of looking at things 🙂 Life is def about taking risks and chances, we need a live it up kinda day soon 😉 And yes I am sure your Coach will come 😀

Leave a Reply

