52 Weeks: A Letter To My Readers (K.Blais)

Dear Readers,

It’s hard to believe that a year has passed since this blog was born. Fifty two weeks, fifty three posts later (I wrote two blog posts one week when I needed to clarify and add some thinking on to the first post, for those of you doing the Math), Writing For The Love Of It is alive and well.

When I first started blogging, I honestly didn’t even know what blogging was all about. And, for those of you who know me well, you know that I took some time to read up on it, trusting Wikipedia and Google for some help of course. When I figured out what a blog actually was, then I realized I didn’t know what to write about. Next came the doubt; I wasn’t sure that people would even want to read what I wrote, or would care about what I had to say. Truthfully, I had not idea in which direction my blog would head. I thought I would blog solely about my writing journey, and I do at times, but mostly the blog has become my life perspective put into words. I realize that my perspective is not always the same viewpoints as others. Most readers though, and I include myself in here, are able to respect the differences of opinion they might have with a writer. Open mindedness is an essential character trait to have in society today.

As I began to expand my blog horizons, I started to write on how I felt about different issues and my thoughts on different topics. My blog topics have ranged from my writing journey, to connecting literature with everyday life, to self reflections and contemplative ponderings. If some particular issue was prevalent or causing some concern in my life, then I would blog about it. There were (and still are) some weeks where my nails were/are literally being bit to the quick as I nervously click the publish button. I’m still not sure if people will want to read what I write, but most of the time the feedback is positive. It has been especially rewarding when you, dear readers, have shared your own experiences and have expressed your thankfulness for the “timeliness” of the post. And, no, for all who have inquired, I’m not a mind reader. 😉

This blog has also been a place where I have found myself. So, while I write for others to read, it’s also been an outlet for sorting out my own feelings, thoughts, and ideas. My blog has connected me with people who share similar values, goals, and ideas, and has reconnected me to many people who I had lost contact with. I’ve “met” new people too and, I’m proud to say, Writing For The Love Of It is read in over 50 countries around the world!

Blogging has become a passion for me, just as creatively writing is. Writing has become a center focus in my life. Many of us are looking for something more in our lives; sometimes we look in the wrong places, sometimes we search in vain, and sometimes we stumble upon that ‘something more’ without even knowing it. I personally have experienced all of the above.
I have always believed in goals and in following your dreams, but I never really believed in them quite as firmly as I do now. I think that Writing For The Love Of It has helped me to solidify my dreams into real goals which I continue to work towards achieving. I know I’ll always be a work in progress, and that’s ok. I once read, “You’ll never be brave if you don’t get hurt. You’ll never learn if you don’t make mistakes. You’ll never be successful if you don’t encounter failure.” That’s what life is all about; trying, failing, and trying again. I’ve shared my goals with you, my dear readers and followers, and many of you have helped me in different ways to get one step closer to my dreams becoming reality. I thank you for that.

I encourage you all to follow your dreams. It’s never too late to shoot for the moon. A place among the stars can be just as rewarding. Take the journey for what it is. Enjoy it. It is the journey, how hard you work to achieve your goals and the character you build in fighting for them, that is truly the reward.

Thank you again, dear readers, for your faithful support and encouragement. Without you, Writing For The Love Of It would be simply words left unread.

Love and belief,

K.

(photo courtesy of flickr.com)

2 thoughts on “52 Weeks: A Letter To My Readers (K.Blais)

  1. Wow a year already!! I want you to know how proud I am of you for taking this leap of faith ❤ You have been working so hard, not only with writing but in your everyday life and job to make sure things get done, and you and your family have the perfect home and life 🙂 You def deserve what you have worked so hard to get! Time to hop on that next goal and get that book out there!! Go on some adventures and see a new world!! I know you can do it my dear! Like you said reach for the stars, and shoot for the moon!! Love you, keep up the great writing!! xo ❤

  2. First of all I want to say Thank you. Thank you for sharing your dream with us, Thank you for being a voice for many, Thank you for writing about things close to home or close to our heart and thank you for welcoming our comments. I know I have said this before but it sure is nice to know that others out there go through similar experiences and feel the same frustration, or happiness or just the sense of belonging. If by chance your writing is not about something that I can relate to at the time( which doesn’t happen very often) It is usually something that at one time or another was experienced by myself or someone I know. I would never have the strength to write blogs although I enjoy writing I find it reassuring that things I feel or things that I want to say can be seen or heard, even if it is not me saying them. So I guess I am speaking through you if that makes any sense. So to sum up please don’t ever shorten this dream of yours, I kind of rely on it now, with my tea in hand and quietness this is now my reassurance, my safe zone if you will. So again Thank you for that, and here is to many more years of blogging. 🙂

Leave a Reply

