Living Life or Just Getting By? (K.Blais)

There have been so many times when I’ve heard, and even said myself, “There just never seems to be enough time to get everything done, to do everything I want, and to get ahead.” Yes, time seems to be the enemy at moments, but I wonder, too, if it’s not the time management aspect which many of us have an issue with.

The truth of the matter is most, if not all, of us need to work in order to live. But the question is – are we living to work or are we working to live? I guess what that question means to me is:

“Are we actually living life or are we just getting by?”

Work does take up a huge amount of time in our lives. I can attest to this as I struggle daily to find time to fit it all in: work, parenthood, and writing. It’s not an easy task, juggling all of these things and successfully getting them done – (if that ever happens…?) Some days it feels like I will never get out of the hamster wheel, and if I do, if I happen to get the chance to sit down and relax, I only have to climb back on it the next day. Squeak, squeak, squeak!

(image courtesy of http://www.michelemolinaro.com)

So with the continuous turning of the hamster wheel, the pressures of work and daily life’s routine wearing us down, how do we set about actually living and enjoying life – instead of just getting by and getting through each day?

I’m not sure that I have the answer to this, but it is interesting to consider how we prioritize things, or how things prioritize themselves, in our lives. Work does take up a huge amount of the day, and some days it takes up more time than others, especially for those of us working in a salary position. It is a fact that many people have great paying jobs, but very little time leftover to enjoy the fruits of their labors. So, it seems to be about finding the happy medium again, balancing work with the time that is leftover.

Finding that balance, or mastering time management, is a daily struggle in my life. When my work day is over, I head home to try to complete everything that still needs to be done in the second half of my day; (8:30 am – 4:00 pm – first half of the day, 4:00 – 11:00 pm – second half of the day). There are a million and one things to do inside and out at home, and yet still various sporting events for my children to participate in. When it’s soccer night, the yard work doesn’t get done. When it’s time to cut the grass, the laundry and housework doesn’t get done. When the laundry and housework are supposed to be done, it’s a beautiful day outside or something unexpected comes up. Gardening is a favourite pastime of mine, but while I spend hours enjoying getting dirt on my hands, my house seems to become dirtier too. You get my point, I’m sure.

Where and how does it all fit in? How do we enjoy life but still do what needs to be done?

Perhaps it begins with gratefulness. Maybe we need to approach living life and all of its responsibilities with a grateful heart. Perhaps if we begin each day giving thanks we will learn to find joy in the simple things. We can learn to expect nothing and appreciate everything. The more we are thankful for in our lives, the more we will find in our lives to be thankful for. We can learn to talk about our blessings more than our problems. We can learn to live simply: to live, laugh, and love. Living a big life is possible and being thankful for it is possible too.

        

        (image courtesy of google images)

I am grateful to have the blessings God has given me. I am grateful to have the work ethic taught and ingrained in me by my hard-working parents so I would know the importance of job responsibility and how it develops strong character. I am grateful to have a comfortable home to clean (and the desire to keep it clean) because it means that my children have a safe environment to live in. I am grateful to have laundry to do because it means that my family has clothes to wear. I am grateful to have a family to look after and, yes, to clean up after too, because it means that I love and am loved in return. I am grateful to have a yard, gardens, and pets to take care of because I have worked hard to achieve all of these things.

I am and will be grateful to have a double shifted day because it means that my life is full. I will aim to LIVE each day to the fullest, hamster wheel and all, because I am GRATEFUL for my life.

Living life is more than just getting by. I aim to live life with a grateful heart and surely all things will be possible.

(photo courtesy of www. Prevention.com)

(Dear Readers, Thank you for your continued support. I am thankful for all of you. I hope you will find all the things which you can be grateful for in your life, and then some. With Gratefulness, ~ K ~)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Living Life or Just Getting By? (K.Blais)

  1. Well said Kim. As we all stirve to reach excellence in our jobs, home, family, and just our lives in general, we just need to sometimes take a chance and jump from that hamster wheel no matter how fast it is spinning and take the time to stand back and take a look a just how much we have accomplished in our lives 🙂 There comes a time when we MUST do something just for US!! We deserve it!! You deserve it!! Yes the wheel is spinning, but you know the saying… “If god leads you to it, he will lead you through it” Great job once again!! xo ❤

  2. I have never read words that hit home more then those you just wrote. I believe that we have to stay in the hamster wheel to get ahead and feel complete. It is how we respond and react is what is important and I am taking your advice and doing my best to complete and feel good about it no matter how busy I may be or get. Keep up the good work writing.

  3. Lord, help me to have a grateful heart today!!! Thanks for the reminder of gratefulness for busyness!!
    Bless you Kim….

Leave a Reply

