Stepping On and Stepping Up (K.Blais)

Have you ever had one of those days where you thought – ‘This can’t be my life? I mean, I must’ve mistakenly stepped into someone else’s shoes today because this was not how I planned my day when I got up this morning’…?

For me, today was one of those days.

You can maybe relate to the type of day where everything seems to go wrong, nothing seems to be right, and everyone seems to be out for number one. Personally, I have a really hard time dealing with that last one – why is it that some of us are so driven to ‘get’ what’s best for us with no regard, worry, or concern about others? Some even feel that it is their “right” to get what’s best for them; that they “deserve” it.

I realize that, once again, I have chosen a touchy subject to blog about, and, don’t get me wrong, I have no problem with setting goals and achieving them. I would like to think, though, that I draw the line at “stepping on others” in order to get what I want.

In all fairness, sometimes this “stepping on” is done unintentionally, or at least unknowingly. At other times, the “stepping on” is a full blown stomp, steel toe boots included. In reality, some really don’t care who they trample on in order to get what they want, when and how they want it. It’s a sad reality. It’s like throwing compassion and regard for others out the window. In some cases, the trampling occurs when climbing the ladder of success, and sometimes it can occur in as simple a situation as claiming something that someone else wanted.

So, why does this happen? Have we become a society so driven to getting what we want that we will stop at nothing to get it? Will we trample on anyone we can to get what we think we deserve?

At times the view of the greater good is lost. By this I mean that we forget that we were put on this earth to help each other. Maybe instead of “stepping on” others to get what we want, we should try “stepping up” to the plate and doing things which are for the greater good or betterment of our organization, our team, and even our workplace. Maybe instead of looking out for number one, we should look out for others to help them, encourage them, and work with them to achieve mutual goals.

John Donne wrote, “No man is an island entire of itself; every man is a piece of the continent, a part of the main; if a clod be washed away by the sea, Europe is the less…; any man’s death diminishes me, because I am involved in mankind. And therefore, never send to know for whom the bell tolls; it tolls for thee.” (taken from Meditation XVII)

“No man is an island” (photo courtesy of flickr.com)

Perhaps a greater concern for others is necessary. We are not alone in this world. Perhaps we need to consider the feelings of others before making choices which affect them, and not simply base our decisions and actions solely on what’s best for us with no regard as to how they might change the lives of other people. John Donne also claims that “I am involved in all of mankind”, even as mankind dies so does a part of me. We should care and be affected by others. Above all else, the Bible states that we are to love one another as God has loved us; a pretty simple statement, but one that is not always so easy to follow.

Some of us are blessed to have those close to us who laugh with us, cry with us, and are there for us. There are those who just know by a simple hello that things are not right. The care and concern of a kindred spirit is irreplaceable. It is comforting to know that there are still people like these in the world.

Being stepped on is never easy to take. A sense of betrayal and disappointment in the “stepper” often overtakes any other reasoning in our mind. “Stepping up” to advocate for the greater good of the greater whole can be difficult as well, especially when it means putting our own desires to the side temporarily. But, we are not put on this earth to trudge through life alone. No man is an island. Step out and away from a focus on your own desires and become a peninsula; reach out to others on the mainland and still be true to yourself. It is possible to do both.

(Dear Readers, I am truly blessed and grateful to have a few kindred spirits in my life, old ones and new. For them, I am now and will forevermore be grateful. Love and compassion, ~ K ~)

3 thoughts on “Stepping On and Stepping Up (K.Blais)

  1. Well said girl!! We all deserve to have the things in life we all have worked so hard to get, we all deserve to step forward in all of our daily, and future desires. The sad part, yes there are some who just do not give a SHIT!! They are people who only look out for themselves and no one around them. I do agree that SOME do not even realize it, but I also am a realist and know that MOST do know exactly what they are doing and exactly who it will hurt along the way 😦 But with that said, just be you my girl and trust me good things will come, good will become you!! “What goes around comes around” is my motto!! Love You!! ❤

  2. Nicely said Kim. Do remember to say what you really feel. At times you can be rewarded by putting it out there.

  3. Wow this blog was one of heart and meaning. You are an amazing person, with an amazing love for life and compassion for others. You don’t give 100% you give 150 % of you time, compassion and friendship to all. I to unfortunately know what it is like to be walked on, and treated poorly sometime even with no explanation but you yourself have made me realize that although it is not right, sometimes unfortunately we cannot change that, so we need to find peace, and a way to turn all that negative into a positive. You are a blessing to so many and although I have personal reason to be glad to know who, I am also honoured because you show me how to live a life full of love, understanding, positivity, and laughter and to be someone that my family and friends can be proud of. I know all to well what it is like to be stomped on and treated poorly, but the way I look at it the people that are mad because of jealousy, or the fear of truth or just because it is there way to be the bully, (whether they realize it or not. ). I just think the people who don’t like me don’t have to, I don’t need to explain why I do or say the things I do. My friends and family are what matter, and no one else but my love and my children have to like my decisions. Sometimes I think the stomping on has made me a stronger person. I wish more would step up and own it, (that would make them the bigger person) that they think they are now, and would make this world a better place. Just remember you help change many, I was heading down the I don’t care path, as some I hung out with did, however now I see I DO care. Life now although has many obsticles I know I can work through them no matter how hard it seems. So Thank you for stepping up 🙂

Leave a Reply

