Seizing The Moment With Oprah (K. Blais)

(photo courtesy of ottawacitizenstyle.com)

Last evening I had the opportunity to see Oprah live courtesy of and with my dear friend Angie, the amazingly talented professional photographer (check her out at www.acgprophoto.blogspot.com).

I had only half jokingly told a few friends that I was taking my novel (saved on a flash drive) with me “just in case” I got to meet Oprah. I mean, I knew it was a long shot, but weirder things have happened, right? I even took the time to handwrite a letter to Oprah explaining who I was, that my dream was to become a published author, and that I would appreciate any help, guidance, or support which she could offer. I labeled the flash drive, with my still tender, yet finished novel, saved on it, and carefully sealed it in the envelope with the note. I was prepared for anything, and I was even a little nervous.

I won’t keep you in suspense.

I didn’t get to meet Oprah. We didn’t even make eye contact. But here’s what did happen…

Oprah walked on stage and, as to be expected, approximately 16, 000 people greeted her with cheers and chants of “Oprah, Oprah!” She graciously waved, smiled, and chanted back to us, “Ott-a-waaa…!” She looked stunning in a sparkly purple dress and fantastic shoes. She was exactly the way I pictured her, full of confidence, self assurance, and poise. I will admit that I was touched by the overwhelming response of the crowd and with the equal warmth in which she greeted us.

The cheering gradually died off and we noticed Oprah’s attention was immediately diverted. Her eyes were on the floor seating section over to her right, and she was saying, “What? What’s that…? You have a manuscript?”

The camera immediately panned to a man in the second or third row that was still standing, waving a stack of papers clipped together, over his head. He was calling something to her, which we couldn’t hear.

Oprah turned to us, the rest of the audience, and said, “He’s got a manuscript…” Looking at her entourage to the side of the stage and to the security guards at the bottom of the stage, she said incredulously, “He’s got a manuscript!”

I sat there in shock, holding my breath. I couldn’t believe that this was happening.

Oprah looked at the man again, and she was laughing kindly. “Well,” she said, “someone better get that man’s manuscript.”

The camera once again panned to the floor, where the heavily clipped manuscript was passed over to the security guards who passed it to Oprah, who passed it to her staff on the side of the stage.

I turned to my friend Ang and grabbed her arm.

“As if that just happened! I can’t believe it! That was MY moment, the chance that I wanted! That lucky *guy…” (*Ok, I didn’t exactly use the word ‘guy’…)

Oprah was still laughing when she said, “Well! People usually get to know me a little bit better before they start handing me manuscripts, but ok…” The audience laughed and Oprah began her presentation.

I was left wondering though, did that *guy really and completely realize how fortunate he was to have seized this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity? Or was everyone thinking, including Oprah, that he had been too bold, and too brash? Would the manuscript be looked at, eventually? Or was Oprah simply being gracious in accepting the manuscript and not embarrassing the *guy in front of 16, 000 people?

I truly felt that Oprah would look at the manuscript, or at least put it into the hands of someone who would look at it. I tried (and am still trying) to be generous, altruistic, and happy for the *guy. I mean, really, good for him for seizing an opportunity. Carpe Diem *Guy!

But… I am envious. Yes, the green-eyed monster is rearing its ugly head. I wanted that break. Maybe I think that I even deserved it more than he did… but it wasn’t my opportunity. It wasn’t my moment.

Although my thoughts differ from hers in many ways (in particular in ways of specific religious beliefs), I do believe that Oprah has lead a very “big” (her word) and fulfilling life. Here’s what I learned from my evening with Oprah:

We have all been called and have a purpose in life. God created each and every one of us with a character and purpose.

We each have a little voice of intuition inside of us, and we need to learn to listen to the whisper when it occurs. The whisper that says, “Mhmmm… something isn’t right.” Or “Mhmmm, I should do something about this…”

The golden rule is incredibly important – “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you”. When you open your heart and let the light in, that is what comes back to you. Your greatest power is the ability to offer your love.

For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction. Remember that in dealing with others.

There are only two emotions love and fear. Love is grace, kindness, forgiveness, understanding, compassion. Fear is anxiety, worry, depression, anger, jealousy, hopelessness. We each create our own reality, based upon walking in the lane of love or in the way of fear.

Expect and believe that your dreams will come true. Get yourself ready and prepare for the moment when it comes. Do this by taking one step at a time. Each day ask yourself, “What is the next right step?” Then take each step, one at a time, and don’t look too far ahead.

Do all that you can do, and after you have done everything that you can do, you must release all attachment to it. Surrender it. Let it go and see if it comes back to you.

In Oprah’s exact words, “Do it. Do the best you can. Then, let it go.”

So, I’m going to take those words of wisdom and tidbits of knowledge from Oprah, add them to my own thoughts, values, and opinions, and go with them. I’m going to expect and believe that my dreams will come true. I will prepare for the moment and be ready when it comes. I will decide on and take the right step, one day at a time.

And, I did IT; I had my envelope with my flash drive and my plea. I did the best I could; I poured my heart out in creating that novel and in writing Oprah a short letter. I have to let it go now. I will have to be satisfied in knowing that the opportunity just wasn’t mine to be had, at least not this time. It wasn’t my turn to seize the moment.

Good luck *Guy! I wish you well, fellow scribe!

(Dear Readers, I hope that each and every one of you has the opportunity to “seize the moment” and to make it yours! Thank you for reading! Follow me on Twitter @kim_blais and on Facebook at Writing For The Love of It. Yours, ~ K ~)

3 thoughts on “Seizing The Moment With Oprah (K. Blais)

  1. So glad you had a wonderful time, with a true WOMAN!! She has done so much around the world for women everywhere 🙂 Your day is just around the corner my friend….. When you least expect it, you will be noticed in so many ways, I just KNOW it!! Time to stand tall and push for what you, and everyone around you knows!! You are a true writer who is just waiting to be discovered, and soon very soon that someone will be asking themselves “Where has this author been hiding” Here’s a little kick start my friend, it’s not to late…. Carpe Diem!!….. 😀 😀

    Another way to contact Oprah is through her Agent. His name is Kevin Huvane and he lives in California. You can write directly to Kevin at: Kevin Huvane, Creative Artists Agency, 2000 Avenue Of The Stars, Los Angeles, CA 90067. Or call him at: (424)-288-2000. Just remember that if Kevin is very likely an extremely busy man, so unless your later can make a very good case for him to pass on your message to Oprah, it’s likely to get ignored. So make it short and powerful – and capture his attention at the very start of the letter. Keep up the great work girl!! xo

Leave a Reply

