Dodging Bullets in a Bulletproof Vest

Welcome to Thursday, dear readers! I’ve come to terming it “Blog Day” for me. Once again, thank you for your wonderful feedback and for sharing your stories of your own leaps and your desires to leap!

Blogging is becoming a real treat for me. It’s something I look forward to each week, and even when I’m writing the current blog, I’m already jotting ideas down for the next post. I’m a planner, and yes, I’m kind of a perfectionist. I’ve been told that’s impossible, you’re either a perfectionist or not, but I beg to differ! There are some things I’m completely fine with not being perfect at, most of which has to do with housework! But, I’m always striving to do better, to be better, and to express myself more clearly. In my attempts to “perfect” myself (yeah, I know, no one is perfect!), I sometimes find myself straying from my goals for improvement because I’m having to put out combustible fires and dodge damaging bullets.

Ok, so I’m not literally putting out fires. No, I have never had an ounce of desire to be one of the most noblest of tradesmen, a firefighter. But I have considered police work. Yes, investigating, patrolling, and dodging bullets can seem pretty dangerous and exciting. When I think about it, that line of work is not all that different from dealing with the issues in life. Life’s bullets can hit pretty hard. They can knock you off your feet. Being rejected by a friend, reaching out to find that no one is reaching back, having doors close, even silence from people who you thought would support you, are “hits” that are hard to take on a good day, let alone on a bad one. “Man down! Man down!” you may want to scream. How much gunfire can one person take?

I find it helpful to remember these wise words from an inspirational friend of mine, “It is likely someone else’s inability to step out of their own comfort zone which prevents them from reaching out to you when you’ve stepped out of yours… Remember, things are rarely as they seem”. So, I’ve learned to be patient and considerate of those who may not seem supportive. I’ve taken criticism in stride, and focused on the positive and how to use it to improve. I’ve reached out again and found someone who was willing to reach back. If I’ve felt alone, I have searched for others who need a friend. When I fall, I get back up. I’m not a quitter. I’ve learned that for me, my bulletproof vest is my self-image. I hold close a clear vision of the positive light in which I see myself and that’s what keeps the bullets from doing their ultimate damage. It’s my personal Kevlar, I suppose.

My ultimate advice on dodging bullets? Don your vest and stand tall. Yes, the bullets can be brutal. They pack a forceful punch, even with your own Kevlar vest on. Don’t let that stop you. The bullets may knock you down momentarily, but you’ll find a way to get back up each and every time.

14 thoughts on “Dodging Bullets in a Bulletproof Vest

  1. Great Blog Kim!! I to find myself awaiting Thursdays 🙂 I feel that I am getting closer to reading that first book, Eh, right, lol But seriously “Dodging Bullets” WOW!! Truly about life no matter what way you look at it!! You have had to dodge many I know, and you always seem to jump right back up again. So keep up the great work and push baby push, you can do it even with the bullets flying 🙂 I only hope one day I can learn to be half the woman you are! Love you lots xo Jen

  2. Thanks Kim, some great concepts and words of inspiration for women or anyone for that matter. No matter how stronger the Kevlar vest though, having the support of good friends and close allies helps the vest stay strong. Without friends (like you) sometimes we forget to put our vests on or need a pep to stand tall. You are a wise friend! Keep up the blogging, I think it suits you well 🙂

Leave a Reply

